Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Developer
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎03-06-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: 3 Italia

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

[ Edited ]

Also I don't find the update

 

Some details:

OS 10.0.4 build 197

Got the device at the bb10jam in Milan

Never placed a sim card (I dont have microsims)

Can't restore to default (after reboot it's the same)

Also my friends that got the dev in Milan can't find the update

Developer
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Z30/Z10/Z10LE/Q10/PlayBook

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Never had a SIM card in my device.

Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: Curve 9380 / PlayBook
My Carrier: Telus

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

I have never put a simple in, and on Tuesday I upgraded to 197 from 187. 

It was not finding the update so I tried the bricking process and that did not work it is now bricked 

And when I do the upgrade and repair it just says that there is no update my the device.

New Developer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Alpha
My Carrier: 3UK

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

A small, random note for those who've been saying microsim - the dev alpha uses a mini-sim, not a micro-sim Smiley Happy (but the response would be the same, of course, that you've not used one in your devices Smiley Wink )

..Dan // Leinir..
http://leinir.dk/

Co-
existence
or no
existence

- Piet Hein
New Developer
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎10-06-2008
My Device: 9800

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

What about making sure the cellular radio is set to OFF. I know for sure my first dev that I updated successfully had a sim installed at one time but last week I set the radio to OFF in the settings.
***********************************************************************
Please click the "kudos" in my post if I was able to help you on this issue.
Please mark thread as resolved if I was able to fix the issue!!
Developer
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎08-04-2008
My Device: Passport / Q10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Actually the Dev Alpha does take a micro sim: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subscriber_identity_module#Formats

 

Anyway, I've tried the update numerous times, my DA is from the Orlando Jam event and hasn't issued an update after numerous attempts with the in place upgrade method or the recovery method.

 

Have a micro sim in mine and just tried it with it removed and still no luck.

 

Thanks for the information Tim, it's appreciated!

Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

I never had a SIM inside my devalpha

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
New Developer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Alpha
My Carrier: 3UK

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Micro-sim? Really? Wow... the slot looks way too big for a micro-sim... Well, if you've got a micro-sim in it without a mini-sim adaptor, i guess it must be Smiley Happy

And now i shall shut up about that Smiley Wink
..Dan // Leinir..
http://leinir.dk/

Co-
existence
or no
existence

- Piet Hein
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
My Device: 9900 + PlayBook + Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

LOL At least you know it won't get stuck if you try to put it in without the adapter Smiley Happy

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
My Device: 9900 + PlayBook + Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

[ Edited ]

Tim,

 

First I want to say that you guys are doing an outstanding job with the Developer updates, both from a tools perspective and the handheld code updates to the Dev Alpha device.

 

Regarding today's update, I had an issue at first. I followed the original instructions, which had the DM 7.1 Bundle 33 link. I downloaded and installed the DM, connected the Dev Alpha device, then went through the 'Get Started'' in the DM, then tried to Update and nothing would show up. I tried both the Update (within Device) and even exiting and going back into DM.

 

I then proceeded to go to another PC, I installed DM 7.1.0.32 Bundle 33 from the Beta Zone. I rebooted the machine, opened DM, connected Dev Alpha, said no to the 'Get Started', and it found the update right away. Updated successfully, this Update is fantastic. You guys have done some great work. My app worked right away, and I am going to submit it into the Dev App World tonight.

 

Both machines were running Windows 7 32-bit. And the Dev Alpha was obtained from BB Jam Toronto and had 10.0.4.188 running on it.  A sim-card was NEVER used in the device.

 

Hope this helps, and keep up the great work! Can't wait for more updates, and especailly I can't wait to see the Dev App World get populated with apps from all these great developers!