Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-31-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Running a test midlet on BB simulator using Eclipse plugin

Hi,

I have developed a test Midlet application.

I have followed the instruction for running a Midlet as a BB applicaion.

after a successful packaging of the Midlet, I've tried to run my converted Midlet as BB Simulator but nothing has happened.

 

the log in the.log file is:

 

eclipse.buildId=I20090611-1540
java.version=1.6.0_22
java.vendor=Sun Microsystems Inc.
BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86, WS=win32, NL=iw_IL
Framework arguments:  -product org.eclipse.epp.package.java.product
Command-line arguments:  -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86 -product org.eclipse.epp.package.java.product
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2010-11-02 11:41:26.622
!MESSAGE NLS unused message: Undefined in: net.rim.ejde.A.I.messages
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2010-11-02 11:41:26.623
!MESSAGE NLS unused message: AlternateEntryPointDetails_Locale_Resource_Group_Label in: net.rim.ejde.A.I.messages
!ENTRY org.eclipse.wst.common.project.facet.core 4 0 2010-11-02 11:41:31.211
!MESSAGE Project facet wst.web has not been defined. It is used in plugin org.eclipse.jst.common.project.facet.core.

 

eclipse.buildId=I20090611-1540java.version=1.6.0_22java.vendor=Sun Microsystems Inc.BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86, WS=win32, NL=iw_ILFramework arguments:  -product org.eclipse.epp.package.java.productCommand-line arguments:  -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86 -product org.eclipse.epp.package.java.product
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2010-11-02 11:41:26.622!MESSAGE NLS unused message: Undefined in: net.rim.ejde.A.I.messages
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2010-11-02 11:41:26.623!MESSAGE NLS unused message: AlternateEntryPointDetails_Locale_Resource_Group_Label in: net.rim.ejde.A.I.messages
!ENTRY org.eclipse.wst.common.project.facet.core 4 0 2010-11-02 11:41:31.211!MESSAGE Project facet wst.web has not been defined. It is used in plugin org.eclipse.jst.common.project.facet.core.

 

The message in the .log-ejde is:

 

11:41:25,070 TRACE [K] ContextManager starting

11:41:25,075 DEBUG [G] Property change listener is enabled.

11:41:25,126 DEBUG [E] Starting Search for CPs

11:41:25,133 DEBUG [E] CP named BlackBerry Java SDK version 5.0.0 was found at C:\eclipse\plugins\net.rim.ejde.componentpack5.0.0_5.0.0.25\components

11:41:25,163 DEBUG [C] VM: *ADDED* [pulse_com.sun.java.jdk.win32.x86_1.6.0.013$Sun JDK 1.6.0_13]

11:41:25,163 DEBUG [C] VM: *ADDED* [BlackBerry JRE 5.0.0$BlackBerry JRE 5.0.0]

11:41:25,188 INFO  [J] # of BB VMs Found: 1

11:41:25,188 DEBUG [J] Bundle [net.rim.ejde] is changing state to Started.

11:41:26,582 TRACE [K] loading C:\Projects\BbTestApp\BlackBerry_App_Descriptor.xml

11:41:26,610 TRACE [K] finished loading C:\Projects\BbTestApp\BlackBerry_App_Descriptor.xml

11:45:10,196 DEBUG [K] Packaging BbTestApp (2)

11:45:10,246 TRACE [A] Project BbTestApp is marked as not need RAPC.

 

the blackberry_app_descriptor.xml is:

 

<Properties ModelVersion="1.1.2">

  <General Title="TestApp" Version="1.0.0" Vendor="BlackBerry Developer" Description="Test Application"/>

  <Application Type="MIDlet" MainMIDletName="com.em_projects.testApp.Main" MainArgs="" HomeScreenPosition="0" StartupTier="7" IsSystemModule="false" IsAutostartup="false"/>

  <Resources hasTitleResource="false" TitleResourceBundleName="" TitleResourceBundleRelativePath="" TitleResourceBundleClassName="" TitleResourceBundleKey="" DescriptionId="">

    <Icons/>

  </Resources>

  <Compile OutputCompilerMessages="true" ConvertImages="false" CreateWarningForNoExportedRoutine="true" CompressResources="false" AliasList="">

    <PreprocessorDefines/>

  </Compile>

  <Packaging OutputFileName="BbTestApp" OutputFolder="deliverables" PreBuildStep="" PostBuildStep="" CleanStep="" GenerateALXFile="true">

    <AlxFiles/>

  </Packaging>

  <HiddenProperties>

    <ClassProtection/>

    <PackageProtection/>

  </HiddenProperties>

  <AlternateEntryPoints/>

</Properties>

 

Whas went wrong????

 

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,727
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Running a test midlet on BB simulator using Eclipse plugin

Are you building from Java source files or are you trying to convert a JAR file to a COD file?

 

Can you elaborate on where the process stopped?  Does it fail to compile?  Does it fail to launch the simulator?  Does it fail to appear in the simulator?  Or does it not launch when you click on the icon in the simulator?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-31-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Running a test midlet on BB simulator using Eclipse plugin

Hi Mark,

I'm trying to run my java code. After building the "project" by the Project -> Build, I've tried to create Blackberry package by right click on the project name BlackBerry -> Package Projects. That went successfully. But, when i have tried to run it by right click on the project name ->Run as -> Blackberry Simulator, it failed and I get the above messages.

Thanks,

Eyal.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,727
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Running a test midlet on BB simulator using Eclipse plugin

What errors do you see in the Console window?  Are you building from source .java files or from a .JAR file?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-31-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Running a test midlet on BB simulator using Eclipse plugin

Hi,

When I try to run my midlet, right click on the project name Run As -> BlackBerry Simulator i get the following message in the consule:

 

 

C:\eclipse\plugins\net.rim.ejde.componentpack5.0.0_5.0.0.25\components\bin\rapc.exe -quiet codename=deliverables\Standard\5.0.0\BbTestProject -midlet deliverables\Standard\5.0.0\BbTestProject.rapc -sourceroot=C:\Projects\BbTestProject\src;C:\Projects\BbTestProject\res -import=C:\eclipse\plugins\net.rim.ejde.componentpack5.0.0_5.0.0.25\components\lib\net_rim_api.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\midpapi21.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\cldcapi11.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\wma20.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\mmapi.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\j2me-ws.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\j2me-xmlrpc.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr75.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr082.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr184.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr179.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\satsa-apdu.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\satsa-jcrmi.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\satsa-pki.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\satsa-crypto.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr211.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr238.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr229.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr180.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr234.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr226.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr239.jar C:\Projects\BbTestProject\BbTestProject.jad C:\Projects\BbTestProject\bin
C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\midpapi21.jar(java/lang/IllegalStateException.class): Error!: Duplicate definition for 'java.lang.IllegalStateException' found in: java.lang.IllegalStateException
Packaging project BbTestProject failed (took 0.953 seconds) 

 

C:\eclipse\plugins\net.rim.ejde.componentpack5.0.0_5.0.0.25\components\bin\rapc.exe -quiet codename=deliverables\Standard\5.0.0\BbTestProject -midlet deliverables\Standard\5.0.0\BbTestProject.rapc -sourceroot=C:\Projects\BbTestProject\src;C:\Projects\BbTestProject\res -import=C:\eclipse\plugins\net.rim.ejde.componentpack5.0.0_5.0.0.25\components\lib\net_rim_api.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\midpapi21.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\cldcapi11.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\wma20.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\mmapi.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\j2me-ws.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\j2me-xmlrpc.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr75.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr082.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr184.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr179.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\satsa-apdu.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\satsa-jcrmi.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\satsa-pki.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\satsa-crypto.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr211.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr238.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr229.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr180.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr234.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr226.jar;C:\WTK2.5.1\lib\jsr239.jar C:\Projects\BbTestProject\BbTestProject.jad C:\Projects\BbTestProject\binC:\WTK2.5.1\lib\midpapi21.jar(java/lang/IllegalStateException.class): Error!: Duplicate definition for 'java.lang.IllegalStateException' found in: java.lang.IllegalStateExceptionPackaging project BbTestProject failed (took 0.953 seconds) 

 

I realy don't know what can goes wrong with that   :-(

My MIDlet contains nothing but Canvas creation that drawing a rectange and intercept the keyPress event.

Thanks,

Eyal.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,727
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Running a test midlet on BB simulator using Eclipse plugin

[ Edited ]

The error indicates that one of your library files has defined java.lang.IllegalStateException.  This is already defined in the BlackBerry API set.  You should remove any libraries that duplicate classes that already exist in the BlackBerry API set.

 

You don't see your application in the simulator because it wasn't successfully built.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker