Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers
Accepted Solution

Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

I hadn't used the Dev device in a couple of weeks so I was still on the build that every other time you'd reboot it would say "Thank you for Partipating"

The problem now is that I'm following the instructions but the Wipe Device batch script reboots the device and it goes into "Thank you for Partipating"

 

I can't seem to get around this. Maybe if I could find the last update I'd be able to do it.

Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

Im on the same version and loader doesnt seem to recognize an update

Developer
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

Some suggestions:

 

1. Download and install app loader from here:

https://developer.blackberry.com/blackberry10devalphas/update

2. Restart your dev alpha device by holding down the on/off button for 10 seconds. Red light will go on and device will reboot without the "end of participation" notice.

3. When the device has rebotted fully, cennect it to your PC via USB and then execute install process indicate at the URL noted in point #1

_________________________
In the dark and need a sky map?
Discover What's up at App World.
Follow What's up on Facebook

Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

Thanks for that. My device has trouble finding an update after loading the wiperestore.bat file. I want to mention that BlackBerry Device Manager comes up every time I connect the device to the pc and I think it interupts the process. Tried un-installing it and then rebooting the pc but it "magically" comes back. I tried ending the process before I hit "OK" to start the update process, but it doesn't recognize an update and the device reboots. I've tried this method numerous times.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

[ Edited ]

I've done this a number of times. As soon as the WipeReload script is run it reboots the device back to the "Thank you for Partipating" screen

Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

I wonder if you need to be on the latest OS in order to update to this one. Hmm.....
Developer
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

You should not uninstall desktop software. You need to reinstall DS and also you should use the App Loader .bat file  (not DS) to intall the update.

 

I have tow XP computers. For some reason on one of them, the dev alpha's PIN is not recognised and the install does not work and I have not figured out a work-around. On the other PC, the PIN is recognized and the installation proceeds to completion.

 

In the later case, the Dsktop Software displayed its update dialog and I just ignored it as it did not affect the installation. If you really want to avoid the annoying DS dialog, you can try turning off auto-start by going to to Tools/Destop Options... Then unselect "Start Blackberry Desktop Software when device is connected".

_________________________
In the dark and need a sky map?
Discover What's up at App World.
Follow What's up on Facebook

Developer
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9


theninjew wrote:
I wonder if you need to be on the latest OS in order to update to this one. Hmm.....

The device does not have to be in the "off" state when using the .bat App loader. If you leave it on and then connect via USB, it will not reboot into the "thanks for participating" mode.

_________________________
In the dark and need a sky map?
Discover What's up at App World.
Follow What's up on Facebook

Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

Maybe un-installing everything and starting will work.
Developer
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Upgrading from 10.0.6.386 to 10.0.9

[ Edited ]

theninjew wrote:
Maybe un-installing everything and starting will work.

I don't quite follow. What are you wanting to uninstall? DS should be installed so that the required USB drivers are available.

 

My suggestiion:

1. Get a fresh start by uninstalling both DS and the App Loader using control pannel "Add remove software". Reboot your PC.

2. Reinstall DS and shut it down. Then install the App Loader using the i.msi file downloaded  from https://developer.blackberry.com/blackberry10devalphas/update

3. Start your dev alpha in it's normal state. (i.e. no thanks for participating" nonsense. Press and hold the power button to reboot, if necessary.

4. With dev alpha on, start the App Loader bat file. Do not be concerned it DS starts and displays its debrick dialog. Ignore it.

_________________________
In the dark and need a sky map?
Discover What's up at App World.
Follow What's up on Facebook