Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 Alpha, Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Fido

App launching times out

Hey guys, got a question here:

 

I'm getting this error when I try to deploy my app using the WebWorks SDK:

 

Error: Cannot connect: Connect to /192.168.190.130:443 timed out. Please check IP address settings for the target. You may have to reboot the target.

 If I try deploying using Ripple, I get the same error message. I've checked the simulator IP address (matches the one i've given), and I've restarted the simulator, still no luck.

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks 

Developer
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎02-19-2011
My Device: Bold 9930 and PlayBook

Re: App launching times out

Are you deploying it to a tablet or phone simulator?  And what are the command line arguments that you are using?

"Not to know what happened before you were born is to be forever a child." Marcus Tullius Cicero
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 Alpha, Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Fido

Re: App launching times out

I was deploying it to the phone simulator; and don't worry!

I've actually figured out my issue; it was a problem with VMWare
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-20-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: blackberry

Re: App launching times out

[ Edited ]

Hi please can you help me I am getting the same error timed out while launching the app on playbook

 

Thanks

Highlighted
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 769
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
My Device: All
My Carrier: N/A

Re: App launching times out

First, can you ping the IP address from windows command prompt?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-20-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: blackberry

Re: App launching times out

Can u please explain me in detail what do u mean by  ping the IP address from windows command prompt? as i m new in black berry

 

Thanks

Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
My Device: Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: App launching times out

I am having the same problem, can you please tell me the steps to fix this?  You mentioned this was on the VMware player but I am not sure how.

 

I appreciate your help.

 

Rosendo

Retired
Posts: 1,561
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: App launching times out

The time's that I've seen this, a PC reboot fixed it. I've only seen this myself on a physical Dev Alpha, and only if I switch between side-loading, then connect to the device's file system, and then try to go back to side-loading; which likely wouldn't be the case if you're using a simulator though...


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
My Device: Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: App launching times out

 

Thanks for the reply, but I have tried restarting thes simulator and the laptop but the result is still the same.  Very frustrating, but don't have a way to test my apps (5) for BB10.  Any feedback is highly appreciated.

 

 

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 769
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
My Device: All
My Carrier: N/A

Re: App launching times out

Are you able to ping the simulator's IP address?

 

Open a command prompt and type:  Ping <address here>,  example would be "ping 192.168.0.1".  

 

If it comes back with results then we can eliminate a network issue (or vmware network in this case).  If it can't reach the host, then we know we're dealing with some type of vmware network settings.