Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Capturing GPS coordinates while in browser

While viewing a broswer page, I want to click a rado button and capture the coordinates of the GPS,and bring them into the web form.

How can I caputre the GPS coordinates?

Developer
My Device: BlackBerry Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Capturing GPS coordinates while in browser

Use the JavaScript BlackBerry.Location object. Take a look in the Browser JavaScript guide.
New Developer

Thanks for the reply.  I am very new to BlackBerry development, so if you could point me in the right direction, even with some samples, it would be very much appreciated.

Developer

The first place to start is the documentation - it includes information about the capabilities of the browser (including GPS Support) and sample code for implementing it.  If you look there, you'll find exactly what you're looking for. Go to the BlackBerry Developers web site (www.blackberry.com/developers), select Developer Documentation then Browser - read through the Browser Content Developer Guide (last published for BlackBerry Device Software 4.3 - now called the Fundamentals guide) and the JavaScript Guides - both located in the same place:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/subcategories/?userType=21&category=BlackBerry+Browser

There's also this really cool book being released in 11 days called BlackBerry Development Fundamentals - it's a book designed for brand new BlackBery developers. It contains everything you need to get started with BlackBerry development - including the answer to this post (how to access location information in the browser with sample code).

New Developer