Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
My Device: None at this time - Hoping for Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon
Accepted Solution

Few Questions

I am working on a Tablet App.

 

1: How do I get my icon to show up, i specifies the icon in the config.xml but It doesnt work.

2: I get a white screen flashing when I run my app on device after my splash/loading screen, how to fix?

3: Sometimes my menu does not drop down on swipedown .. any ideas?

4: The following code does not work on Playbook, works in browser and other tablets that I develop for, should I uses touches??

    onMouseDown: function(e)
    {
        captured = this;
        this.startX = e.clientX - this.note.offsetLeft;
        this.startY = e.clientY - this.note.offsetTop;
        this.zIndex = ++highestZ;
 
        var self = this;
        if (!("mouseMoveHandler" in this)) {
            this.mouseMoveHandler = function(e) { return self.onMouseMove(e) }
            this.mouseUpHandler = function(e) { return self.onMouseUp(e) }
        }
 
        document.addEventListener('mousemove', this.mouseMoveHandler, true);
        document.addEventListener('mouseup', this.mouseUpHandler, true);
 
        return false;
    },
 
    onMouseMove: function(e)
    {
        if (this != captured)
            return true;
 
        this.left = e.clientX - this.startX + 'px';
        this.top = e.clientY - this.startY + 'px';
        return false;
    },

 

Blackberry Playbook Apps: iWitness
Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Few Questions

Hi bobbydharrell,

 

1) Make sure your icon is 86x86 if it is a different size it just may not appear

 

2) This is something that we are working on.  I'm working on an update from the development team to see where we are with this issue

 

3) I'm not sure.  I haven't heard of this issue before.  Do you have some sample code that we can try and reproduce?

 

4) You will likely want to stick with touch events.  Some good information on touch events can be found here and you can find our documentation here

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
My Device: None at this time - Hoping for Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Few Questions

I think the menu thing was me, I have not had it happen since I wrote the question.

 

I had my icon set for 86x86 but it still gave me the default .. I will play with it some more

 

Let me know what they say about the white screen if it something I will need to change, if it winds up being a playbook update then I just wont worry about it

 

I am looking into the Touches now .. Thank you

Blackberry Playbook Apps: iWitness
Developer
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: Few Questions

There is nothing you can do about the white screen at this time. The ball is in RIM's camp.

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
My Device: Bold 9900, PlayBook 64GB, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Bell Mobility

Re: Few Questions

 


bobbydharrell wrote:

I think the menu thing was me, I have not had it happen since I wrote the question.

 


Did you do something to fix the menu not appearing all the time? I am currently having this problem. Mine only appears after I have focused a textarea.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
My Device: None at this time - Hoping for Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Few Questions

not really ... Still not sure what was causing it ... Been super busy at work so I have not had the chance to play with it more ... Will post an update if I figure out what it was
Blackberry Playbook Apps: iWitness
Retired
Posts: 1,382
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Few Questions

FYI: we're tracking this issue here, and Tim has added updates about the  resolution https://github.com/blackberry/WebWorks-TabletOS/issues/12

 

I saw a preview of the fix the other day - its coming along well.  Going to try and get more info for you about when this fix will be available for developers to use.

 

 

 

 

Follow me on Twitter: @n_adam_stanley
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your app doesn't work? Use BlackBerry remote web inspector to find out why.