Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Fixing "error encountered during xml parse:"

[ Edited ]

I thought I would share this as I am a web developer and came across this issue. It seems that for the end user you can change your user agent and it will fix this. But for the development side let show you how I fixed it. I had a listing with links that looked like this <a href="default.aspx?cat=1&id=2"> and it was returning the error error encountered during xml parse: Expecting ';'. After searching for a while I was able to find the user agent fixes. Then I got the brillant idea of moving things around, and a little trial by error. I was able to narrow it down to the query string. It seems that  the native blackberry browser reads the & in the links and returns a XML error. By simply escaping the & (&amp;) I was able to get around this error. This seems to be a fairly new error. All, and all, in the end it's an XML Parsing error. As we all know you have to escape entities in XML.

Developer
My Device: Galaxy S II
My Carrier: Meteor (Ireland)

Re: Fixing "error encountered during xml parse:"

What happens if you put a DOCTYPE declaration at the top of the document to say that it is HTML 4.0.1? Perhaps the default is to treat it as XHTML...

Developer

Specifically, try putting this up there:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

Developer
My Device: Not Specified