Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎10-02-2010
My Device: Z10 and Z30
My Carrier: Play and Plus

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

Please do it as soon as possible. It can be a small application. I spend week trying to get it working on OS 6 and still it's not working.

Developer
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

Alright, I've attached a zip folder. There is a "standardInstall" folder that you can use to load the files into your desktop manager and deploy to a device to test. I've already signed the code.

 

There is also the complete source. This is just a skeleton of an application I have in production.

 

When the app starts, you'll have a select and two buttons (an add and a remove). 

 

Click the "add station" button to start adding things to the database. You'll then see them appearing in the select. You can then close the app. Upon opening it again, the items in the database should then be in the select.

 

 

You can also just click add several times... look at the items in the select, and then click remove and watch them go away in reverse order. 

 

The code isn't bullet proof... I slapped it together just now and tested it on my Torch, 9700 (running OS 6) and my 9300 (OS 6) with no issues (all real devices).

_________________________________________
www.jasonmace.com/blackberry
Developer
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

Sorry guys, the sample above is sloppy. I'll get something a little cleaner and commented up next. It's the holiday here so I'll be a little slow getting back online.
_________________________________________
www.jasonmace.com/blackberry
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-24-2010
My Device: Not Specified
My Carrier: T-com

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

[ Edited ]

Thank you for you sample!!!!

I tested this on 9800 Torch, OS version v6.0.0.141  Bundle 278 Platform 6.4.0.64

and 9780, OS vv6.0.0.110, Bundle 231, Platform 6.5.0.13

But-----------------------

still does not work, god same me.....

When i click add station, i got this error:

Error within processNewStation function: undefined.

 

This time there is no security_err: DOM Exception 18, but i think there is still problem with the database initialization.

Developer
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

[ Edited ]

try this example... less code, more comments, 

 

This code creates a database and a single table. Inserts a couple of users to the table, and then pulls the users from that table to dynamically create elements in the DOM. 

 

At the bottom of the application, you'll see an output of what is going on... a sort of debug output. 

 

Same as the above example... there is a "standardInstall" folder with a signed file ready for deployment. The complete source is also available in the "test" folder

_________________________________________
www.jasonmace.com/blackberry
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-24-2010
My Device: Not Specified
My Carrier: T-com

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

hi, Thank you for your answer, you are right, i think it is cache problem.

And i know now how to reproduce this problem.

1, install db app

2, usb connected

3, run db app, err 18 occurs.

4, usb disconnected, run app, there will be always err_18. whatever you update the app, or disconnected the usb, the error comes forever.

 

 

Solution:

1 deinstall db app totally, install db app again. Better restart device

2. MAKE SURE USB disconntected

3, run app, everything ok.

 

Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: bolt2
My Carrier: digicel jamaica

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

[ Edited ]

 

I tried this today and i got the following error on the emulator:

"An Unsupported API was called: RadioGetGprsState". It seems as if i cant not find a html5/Gears sample database that actually works. Is there anyone else who can post a working samle of db with gears/html5

Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: bolt2
My Carrier: digicel jamaica

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

I realized that even though i get the error at first, the app still run if i click "ignore"
Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: bolt2
My Carrier: digicel jamaica

Re: Gears.zip sample application doesn't work on OS 6 Simulator???

I realized that the app still works if i press the "ignore" button. This is on an blackberry generic emulator.