Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Highlighted
New Developer
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

How to create and use Database in developing a mobile-based website?

Hello,

I am a newbie in Mobile-based website development. So, please can anyone help me out as i want to use a database  for a mobile based website. How can i proceed further in this regard? i.e. which database i have to use and how a connection can be made to it and using which language?

Please do reply.

Thanks and regards,

Richa Bhatia

Retired
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: How to create and use Database in developing a mobile-based website?

Only in BlackBerry OS v5.0 do we now have database support from a website.  This is accomplished using the Gears Database API.. Details on the Gears API can be found here:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/12802/Summary_.html 

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
New Developer

Thanks a lot for replying.

I want to ask 1 more question please help me. Actually, i am developing a website that can be viewed from many mobiles such as Blackberry, Android, Palm Pree etc.. And somewhere have i studied that we can use VS.Net for creating a website and with it, Microsoft ADO.Net Database  can be used.

So i want to ask  that is it possible or not? If not, then what other tools i have to use for creating a website?

Please reply.

Thanks & Regards,

Richa Bhatia

Retired
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

If you are a Microsoft developer then you can use ADO.NET for database access.  This is because this is server-side technology and is running on the web server and not the device.