Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
My Device: Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

I recently installed the latest SDK (Webworks) and since then every 3 or 4 times of running a project I get the following error message:

 

Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

 

To get around this I have to delete my project from eclipse, restart eclipse and then reimport my project again.  But after 3 or 4 times of running the app on a simulator I get the error again.  This was not happening with the previous version of the SDK.  Also, I already made sure that all resources have just alphanumeric (including underscore) characters in their names, but this is still happening. 

 

Any ideas or suggestions on how to resolve this? 

 

Thanks for your help.

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

The current builds of the WebWorks SDK do not allow resources with underscores or dashes in their file names.

 

It allows letters numbers and "." characters.  We will be allowing dashes and underscores in an upcoming build.

 

The reasoning behind it goes into a ton of details about the various different command line packaging tools, compilers and underlying technologies that all have different rules around the use of special characters.

 

We removed all special character support and then will be adding back in special characters that will work as the use case arrises.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
My Device: Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

Thanks for the fast response tneil. 

 

Is there a timeline for a new version that will accept underscores? 

 

Or, can we go back to the old SDK, build the app and still be approved in AppWorld?

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

I do not have an exact timeline for when this change will make it into a build and be released.  We will be having a series of builds and releases available soon.  If I were to give you a date right now it may not come true.. we are working out the release schedule and what will be included in each release.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

Thanks Tim, and I have used files with underscores and had no errors.  I would like the hyphen charachter to be allowed still the same.

 

Now how about that JavaScript history problem:

 

<a href="JavaScript&colon;history.back(1)"><img src="back_button.jpg" /></a>

 

Works fine in WebWorks and OS 5, but does nothing in OS 6

 

I really could use this functionality!!

 

-Louis

New Developer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
My Device: Curve 8320

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

    I get this error when I use the Eclipse plugin to run the BlackBerry WebWorks Packager (bbwp).  I'm not sure why, but it creates the tmp files before zipping up the project;  then bbwp complains with this error.

 

    To work around this, I shell out and remove the offending files from the zip file.  Then run bbwp on the project's zip file and all is well.

 

The WebWorks plugin is version:  2.5.1.201010291444-2

The WebWorks SDK is version:  1.5.1.201010291444-22

 

 

Chris
Developer
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎03-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

Hi Tim,

 

You mentioned that it is supposed to accept numbers and ".", but I can't use either. 

 

Thanks

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

 


brianjd wrote:

Hi Tim,

 

You mentioned that it is supposed to accept numbers and ".", but I can't use either. 

 

Thanks


 

I just added the following files to my WebWorks application without any packager errors:

123.hello.123.htm

hello.123.world.htm

hello123.htm

 

Can you specify your file names and the error you are receiving?

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Developer
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎03-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

As part of the project name in Eclipse, if I name the project "011.net" for instance, and the compressed package ends up as "011.net.zip" before it is touched by bbwp.  I receive the following:

 

************************
BUILDING 011.net
cmd.exe /c bbwp C:\Documents and Settings\User\Workspace\011.net\build\011.net.zip /o C:\Documents and Settings\User\Workspace\011.net\build
[INFO]              Parsing command line options
[ERROR]             Invalid application archive - archive name is not valid
BUILD EXITED WITH 1 ERROR
************************

 

It isn't a resource name being invalid, but the archive name itself.   I am a bit confused, as I thought I have named projects like this in the past.

 

Thanks

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Invalid application archive - resource name is not valid(.tmp_index.html.36710~)

Ah... project naming...

 

There are specific rules around module naming on a BlackBerry Smartphone.  In your Project name, which ends up being used as the zip file name, which ends up being the installed file name we do have limits on characters that can be used.  I don't believe you can have "."'s in your project name.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter