Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
My Device: Bold 9900 - Playbook
My Carrier: Bell
Accepted Solution

Is WebWorks the easiest?

Hello I am new to developing and right now I am starting right at the noob level, I make websites and I want to get into the mobile market. I have tons of ideas but not the capital to hire a dev unfortantly. 

Is WebWorks the best place to start for absolute beginners?  Or should I look into one of the other platforms to dev. 

New Developer
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: GiffGaff

Re: Is WebWorks the easiest?

I have started with Webworks after using Phonegap to create html5 apps for ios and android. Webworks does a great job of creating html5 apps and for the apps I have ported, they run a lot smoother in my Z10 than on my iPad or nexus 7. I do feel that going native will be my next step though, or at least to start using bbui.js. Just my two cents!
New Developer

Thanks, I think that will be my route also and try out the apps first and then make them native. 

Contributor
My Device: AT&T Torch 9810
My Carrier: AT&T

I found bbUI.js to be surprisingly similar to native. Of course you can notice differene in performance; you won't be able to go crazy with scrolling on webworks like you can on native but you'll be surprised how well a webworks apps performs. 

Retired
My Device: Passport

I like HTML5/WebWorks a lot myself, and there's a lot to like.