Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

'Loading please wait' native dialog

The app I'm developing loads all its content into a local sqllite db using xmlhttp requests. As you can imagine, this takes awhile depending on the network.

I'd like to show users a native 'Loading..' Msg + spinner while sending the requests & a 'Updating...' Msg while updating the sql db.

How can this be achieved?
Developer
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: 'Loading please wait' native dialog

Probably best to load a stylized <div> with your loading message + spinner and remove it when your data is done loading.

--
Rory (@roryboy)
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: 'Loading please wait' native dialog

No way to use the default native dialog with the spinner?

Developer
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: 'Loading please wait' native dialog

Not sure, never tried it. I don't think WebWorks has access to a native dialog like that.

--
Rory (@roryboy)
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: 'Loading please wait' native dialog

That's too bad, wouldve been perfect.

Thanks anyway
Retired
Posts: 1,382
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: 'Loading please wait' native dialog

If you are referring to a Java UI control. they can be invoked from a WebWorks app, however you will need to wrap that call as a JavaScript extension.  

 

Here is our repo of community extensions, including a getting-started template:

https://github.com/blackberry/WebWorks-Community-APIs

Follow me on Twitter: @n_adam_stanley
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your app doesn't work? Use BlackBerry remote web inspector to find out why.
Highlighted
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: 'Loading please wait' native dialog

Thanks for the link. Could you be more specific as to what section I should use?

What I want to acheive is the loading spinner + msg when the app performs certain activities such as, logging in a user, loading new content etc.

Would you have a sample code?