Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Retired
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

That's what I was afraid of when I saw how many signatures it needed.

 

The file will be in that directory path where the project is at. It creates a ./bin directory for them.

Tim Windsor
Open Source Technical Lead
Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: Simulated

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

So in /bin/bbos there are two folders: OTAInstall and StandardInstall
in OTAInstall there are 144 .cod files none larger than 71kb and a .jad file 20kb. In StandardInstall there is a .alx file 1kb, .csl 1kb, .cso 1kb and finally the .cod at 7,398kb
Retired
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

The number of cod files might be the problem. The app is right around the practical limit for the BBOS platform. I think it was limited to 127 cod files in a single app, each at no more than 128KB, split between 64KB code and 64KB data. You can try loading it through the Desktop Manager software using the ALX file. If it doesn't work then it's too big.

 

You could remove some larger non-essential assets just to see if we can prove that the build process is working. If that makes it work then you'd have to look at some options to reduce the built file size.

 

We can also try a build on BB10 WebWorks 1.0 if you've got the device ready. It doesn't have the slow signing process or filesize limits, and it's probably already to go now that you've gone this far.

Tim Windsor
Open Source Technical Lead
Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: Simulated

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

The BB10 device did just arrive, but it needs to charge, and once again I find myself at the end of another 10 hour day. *sigh* So I'll try to build to BB10 tomorrow.
Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: Simulated

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

*Turn on BB10 device
*Enter password provided
<Incorrect password>
*Bounce head off desk.

Retired
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

Does it matter what data is on it? If you keep entering wrong passwords, eventually it will do a security wipe and you can put a new one in.
Tim Windsor
Open Source Technical Lead
Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: Simulated

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

It's not my phone.
Retired
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

You won't be able to test the app on the phone without the right password.

Do you want to build a signed BB10 version for submission to the store? Maybe test it on the BB10 simulator to be sure it's working?

Or do you want to work on trimming it down to build on the older phones?
Tim Windsor
Open Source Technical Lead
Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: Simulated

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

The owner got back to me with the correct password.

So I'm having issues with the phones IP. I get

 

build.deploy.bb10.device.prod:
     [exec] Error: Cannot connect: Network is unreachable: connect. Please check IP address settings for the target. Try to ping the target.
     [exec] Result: 1
build:

 And pinging the IP returns:

PING: transmit failed. General failure.

 

I'm getting the IP from Settings -> About -> Network -> USB

Retired
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Need someone to walk me through building to device.

You will need to turn on development mode and then try again.

https://developer.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/v2_0/enabling_developer_mode.html
Tim Windsor
Open Source Technical Lead