Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook
My Carrier: N/A

Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

I have packaged and deployed the sample helloworld application on the PlayBook simulator. When I click the icon, a BB Loading page is displayed then it fades out and I am shown a blank view of the PlayBook home screen. If I drag up I can then see a transparent / empty box with a 'x' on the corner for the application that I executed. This happens for any sample application I load on it.

 

I am developing on max os x. I have the latest sdk and simulator.

 

Anyone else seen this? I apologize if this has already been answered, I searched for it but couldn't find anything on this.

 

- Mike

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook
My Carrier: N/A

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

I just re-packaged it with the -s switch to show the source and I found a file called blackberry-tablet.xml 

 

It has this in it:

 

<qnx>
<initialWindow>
<systemChrome>none</systemChrome>
<transparent>true</transparent>
</initialWindow>
<publisher>Sample Inc.</publisher>
<category>core.internet</category>

</qnx>

 

 

Why is transparent set to true? Is there additional configuration that I need to complete somewhere?

 

Thanks,

 

- Mike

Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

  I haven't had any issues, but I'm on Win7.  I wonder if it is a problem with your command line on how you're building/packaging it?  Can you provide the command line on how you're building them?

 

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook
My Carrier: N/A

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

I have an ant script that I wrote that takes care of everything, here is the relevant output using the debug switch:

 

 

compile:
     [exec] Current OS is Mac OS X
     [exec] Executing '/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/bbwp/bbwp' with arguments:
     [exec] '/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/workspace/dist/a2b.zip'
     [exec] '-buildId'
     [exec] '1'
     [exec] '-o'
     [exec] '/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/workspace/dist'
     [exec] 
     [exec] The ' characters around the executable and arguments are
     [exec] not part of the command.
Execute:Java13CommandLauncher: Executing '/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/bbwp/bbwp' with arguments:
'/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/workspace/dist/a2b.zip'
'-buildId'
'1'
'-o'
'/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/workspace/dist'

The ' characters around the executable and arguments are
not part of the command.
     [exec] [INFO]      		Parsing command line options
     [exec] [INFO]      		Parsing bbwp.properties
     [exec] [INFO]      		Validating WebWorks archive
     [exec] [INFO]      		Parsing config.xml 
     [exec] [WARNING]   		Failed to find a <feature> element
     [exec] [INFO]      		Populating application source
     [exec] [INFO]      		Compiling WebWorks application
     [exec] [INFO]      		Packaging the bar file
     [exec] [INFO]      		Bar packaging complete
     [exec] [INFO]      		WebWorks application packaging complete

install-and-run:
     [exec] Current OS is Mac OS X
     [exec] Executing '/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/bbwp/blackberry-tablet-sdk/bin/blackberry-deploy' with arguments:
     [exec] '-installApp'
     [exec] '-password'
     [exec] 'psg'
     [exec] '-device'
     [exec] '192.168.131.128'
     [exec] '-package'
     [exec] '/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/workspace/dist/a2b.bar'
     [exec] '-launchApp'
     [exec] 
     [exec] The ' characters around the executable and arguments are
     [exec] not part of the command.
Execute:Java13CommandLauncher: Executing '/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/bbwp/blackberry-tablet-sdk/bin/blackberry-deploy' with arguments:
'-installApp'
'-password'
'psg'
'-device'
'192.168.131.128'
'-package'
'/Users/michael/Workspace/BlackBerryDev/workspace/dist/a2b.bar'
'-launchApp'

The ' characters around the executable and arguments are
not part of the command.
     [exec] Sending Install and Launch request...
     [exec] Info: Action: Install and Launch
     [exec] Info: File size: 377148
     [exec] Info: Installing a2b47cf26c17f2ef17fb3d3a5967b83dbbd.testM2E1OTY3YjgzZGJiZCAgICA...
     [exec] actual_dname::a2b47cf26c17f2ef17fb3d3a5967b83dbbd.testM2E1OTY3YjgzZGJiZCAgICA
     [exec] actual_id::testM2E1OTY3YjgzZGJiZCAgICA
     [exec] actual_version::1.0.0.1
     [exec] result::success
     [exec] Info: Launching a2b47cf26c17f2ef17fb3d3a5967b83dbbd.testM2E1OTY3YjgzZGJiZCAgICA...
     [exec] result::1691657
     [exec] Info: done

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

There's nothing that I see wrong.  Just a couple of things though:

- this shouldn't be a problem but try adding the <feature> to the config.xml

- are you sure the .zip file is ok?  are you deleting the old one and re-creating it new every time?

- are you able to build/run the Sketch Pad app?

 

I wish I could provide you with a .bar file that works on my sim to see if it runs OK on yours.  that way we eliminate the sim not behaving for some reason and narrowed it down to be a build/packaging issue...

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook
My Carrier: N/A

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

- I have put in a feature type, doesn't make any difference.

- Zip file is good, deleted and remade every time.

- Can build and Execute the SketchPad app, but it does not appear as well.

 

Thanks for the help, this is pretty frusterating.

Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

I've uploaded my SketchPad built .bar file.  Just unzip it and you'll get the .bar file.  Try running that one and see if it runs correctly:

 

http://www.4shared.com/file/WoNWbUzy/sketchPadStandard.html

 

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook
My Carrier: N/A

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

Getting all kinds of errors when trying to load that. For starters it downloads as a .zip file from that site. Can you verify that you uploaded the .bar ?

 

Thanks,

 

- Mike

Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

I zipped the .bar file. You have to download the .zip from the site, then extract the .bar that is inside then install that on your sim
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook
My Carrier: N/A

Re: Playbook App Launches to Blank View / Doesn't load

Thats what I assumed. I just caught what was happening... mac os x automatically unzipped the bar file.

Okay just loaded it and that worked. Well that removes half of the problem space. Hmmm.