Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-12-2012
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Virgin mobile

Problems starting ripple emulator

I just upgraded by webworks api to version 2.3.? 

 

Since doing that Ripple stopped working so I re-installed. (after uninstall) now when I boot up ripple I get a page that says 404 not found. The URL it is trying to find in the config.ini file appears to be 

 

#windowContent=http://developer.blackberry.com/ripple/

 

I try this URL myself and it also does not work. 

 

What has happened here and any suggestions to fixing it. I have tried a complete uninstall and re-install. I have also tried using thechrome extension (but that still seems to use webworks version 2.0.

 

Regards

 

Wongadob

Developer
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

What version of ripple are you using? The new one is in Chrome again, but it requires you to disable any old Chrome ones before setting up the new one.

 

Download: https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/html5/download/ripple

Setup: https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/ww_getting_started/Use_the_Ripple_emulator_C...

 

Should would with SDK 2.3 and a bonus of BB10 SDK

 

That all said your SDK upgrade should have no effect on Ripple, so not sure why it would stop working.

--
Rory (@roryboy)
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-12-2012
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Virgin mobile

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

I am now using the new chrome extension. The real issue I had was with regards to using the new webworks 2.3.1. When I select the platform as webworks the only option I have is 2.0. Any way to change that to use the latest libs?

 

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-12-2012
My Device: TOUCH
My Carrier: MTN

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

[ Edited ]

On my window7, my config file looks like this

 

[Ripple]
windowContent=http://developer.blackberry.com/ripple/
windowSize=@Size(1366 706)
windowPos=@Point(-8 -8)
windowState=1
localStoragePath=
buildServiceCommand=services/bin/rbd_service.command
buildServicePort=9900
enableHardwareAcceleration=1
webGLEnabled=1

 

And note that, you need to be INITIALLY connected to the internet for Ripple to UPDATE its interface from http://developer.blackberry.com/ripple. NOTE, ripple requires a connection only on the first start up after installation otherwise its will display a WHITE screen or some error. Hope this helps.

Developer
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

2.0.0 is what you should be using.

 

Ripple isn't actually tied to your installed SDK, if that makes sense, it has its own built in functions to emulate the SDK features.

--
Rory (@roryboy)
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

We started getting these errors today, fixed it by changing the window content to the following in the config file
windowContent=http://developer.blackberry.com/html5/update/rippleui
Retired
Posts: 1,382
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

Hi folks,

 

Thanks for raising this to our attention. There was a maintenance release this weekend, and unfortunately the windowContent=http://developer.blackberry.com/ripple/ URL was impacted.

 

Very sorry for any inconvenience.  The URL is back online now.

 

Going forward, all developers should be using the new version of Ripple, which is a Chrome extension.  The standalone Ripple product is no longer the recommended solution and we expect developers to upgrade and begin using the new extension (hopefully sooner than later):

https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/html5/download

 

Sincerely,

Adam

Follow me on Twitter: @n_adam_stanley
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your app doesn't work? Use BlackBerry remote web inspector to find out why.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

Isn't the standalone product way too convenient when it comes to publishing the app over the cli option? If the chrome extention did this, it would be perfect!
Retired
Posts: 1,382
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

Hello,

 

Yes the (new) Chrome Extension does now have support for build / sign / deploy!

Follow me on Twitter: @n_adam_stanley
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your app doesn't work? Use BlackBerry remote web inspector to find out why.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Problems starting ripple emulator

Oh ok, I didn't realize that. Are we talking about 0.9.1 or 0.9.4(bb10)?