Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Telus
Accepted Solution

Ripple Emulator Help

Hi

 

I have been following this tutorial, and have had everything run smoothly up until the point where I try to package my app.

 

When I try to package, I get the error: Oh Snap! Build request failded with message: error
This could be due to the Build and Deploy services not running or not being installed

 

However, when I click the Start Services button, nothing happens, I am unable to start the Ripple Services.

 

This is my first time designing and app, and am extremely grateful for any help.

 

Thanks

Developer
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎07-26-2013
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: All Carriers

Re: Ripple Emulator Help

Hi,

   Check whether all  the path name you given in settings before doing packaging using ripple are correct. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hit Like if this post found useful
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Ripple Emulator Help

Thanks, I checked all of my path names and they are all correct.

 

I am also getting the error "config.xml file could not be found in the application's root or is malformed XML"

 

It still isn't working though.

Developer
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎07-26-2013
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: All Carriers

Re: Ripple Emulator Help

You have to create config.xml file in the folder where index.xml file is present and this link will helps you  https://developer.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/working_with_config_xml_file_1866970_11.html

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hit Like if this post found useful
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Ripple Emulator Help

I created a config.xml using this code:

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> 
<widget xmlns="http://www.w3.org/ns/widgets" 
    xmlns:rim="http://www.blackberry.com/ns/widgets"
    version="1.0.0.0" id="HelloWorldApp">   
   
    <name>helloWorld</name> 
    <author>My name</author>
    <description>The classic first app</description>
    <icon src="images/icon.png"/>
    <content src="index.html"/> 

</widget>
Developer
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎07-26-2013
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: All Carriers

Re: Ripple Emulator Help

Well, is it working well now?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hit Like if this post found useful
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Ripple Emulator Help

No, unfortunately I have not been able to get it to run on my laptop.

 

However, following the exact same steps, I've got the services and emulator up and running to full capacity, so the problem must have been with my computer, not the program.

 

Thanks for all the help.