Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
My Device: Blackberry 9550
My Carrier: Verizon
Accepted Solution

Ripple emulator extension

I am taking the summer to attempt to try my self-taught hands at webworks for BB10 using BBUI.JS. I am having a problem getting ripple to run. I cant get the ripple services to run via commnd line.

 

 

C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\Ripple <version>\services\bin directory, type ripple-services.

 

I dont know exactly what bin directory, type is.

 

I am using windows 7

 

 

 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
My Device: Curve 9360, Playbook, BB10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: TMN

Re: Ripple emulator extension

Hi!

As a chrome extension, all you need to do is to navigate in chrome to your local webserver where your app is hosted. Then, click the Ripple extension button in chrome and it will start the ripple interface.

 

cheers

Nuno
New Developer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: waiting to get a playbook
My Carrier: rogers

Re: Ripple emulator extension


From what I have experienced, you will need both things. The CLI and Chrome.  Run the command from the command line (type ripple-services) and leave that running.  You should see something like

"defaulting to port 9910...

Going into production mode.

Picard boldly goes on port 9910"

 

Leave that command prompt window open.

Go to Chrome and navigate to your local page and click the Ripple extension button.

If you put the page documents into the folder c:\users\<your username>\RippleSites\<your app name> you will only need to navigate (in chrome extension) to localhost:9910/<your app name>/index.html

You need to include index.html or whatever your default html file is.  From there you can set it up just the same as the standalone ripple.

 

Hope that helps

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: Bold 9900

Re: Ripple emulator extension

Yep, as mentioned you have to start the Ripple service and leave it running, then open chrome and goto the page, then enable ripple.

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
My Device: Blackberry 9550
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Ripple emulator extension

Thanks for all the help. I did read that ripple services must be kept running in the background. I guess my question was how do i get it to run?

Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: Bold 9900

Re: Ripple emulator extension

Create a shortcut to Program Files\Ripple\services\bin\ripple-services.bat and run it
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
My Device: Blackberry 9550
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Ripple emulator extension

Thanks. That did the trick.

Developer
Posts: 236
Registered: ‎07-27-2012
My Device: BlaclBerry PlayBook 16gb, BlackBerry dev alpha
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Ripple emulator extension

Thanks even it worked with me