Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Ripple - "Error: Permission denied: connect" when attempting to build

No proxy needed.  Java is the only thing I can think of that's changed.  I've also tried via two separate networks and internet connections.

 

Is there any way I can test connectivity to the signing servers?

Retired
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Ripple - "Error: Permission denied: connect" when attempting to build

Can you see if you can reach this page?

http://www.rim.net/Websigner/servlet/BAR-Waterloo/

 

If you try in a browser and get a blank page then you are able to reach it.

Tim Windsor
Open Source Technical Lead
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Ripple - "Error: Permission denied: connect" when attempting to build

[ Edited ]

Ill try and report back.

Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Ripple - "Error: Permission denied: connect" when attempting to build

Comes up as "The page you have requested has been moved or no longer exists."

If connectivity is not the problem.... Smiley Frustrated
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Ripple - "Error: Permission denied: connect" when attempting to build

Strange, after a couple of reboots (the first didnt do anything), it seems to be working again.  I don't get it!

Retired
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Ripple - "Error: Permission denied: connect" when attempting to build

Glad to hear it and sorry that I couldn't help more with whatever the problem was.

 

I was actually given the wrong link too. You won't need it now, but for anyone else who comes across this thread with a similar problem, the URL to test for connectivitiy is actually:

 

www.rim.net/Websigner/servlet/RDK-Waterloo

Tim Windsor
Open Source Technical Lead
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Ripple - "Error: Permission denied: connect" when attempting to build

Thanks Tim.

Since there wasnt much the Goog returned for this error, hopefully all this info will help anyone else that suffers the same fate in the future.  Smiley Very Happy

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Ripple - "Error: Permission denied: connect" when attempting to build

For the record, this happened again, but again, a reboot fixed the issue.

 

It may have something to do with me connecting and disconnecting from my company's VPN, but I cannot confirm this (as signing seems to work when connected and disconnected, but eventually stops working altogether).