Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

Running web apps full screen on Playbook

I'm a Sencha Touch developer and one of the cool features of web apps on iOS devices is the way you can add them to the home screen as an icon and run them by clicking the icon. They then run full screen without any browser chrome so they appear to be native apps.

Is it possible (or will it be possible) to do something similar in the Playbook? My Sencha apps look great in the Playbook browser but you can see the browser chrome at the top of the app.

Thoughts/ideas appreciated

Rob
New Contributor

Re: Running web apps full screen on Playbook

OK I think I see what you are supposed to do - wrapper the whole web app as a WebWorks application.

I have to say that from what I've read, it appears to be a very complex and tortuous process, particularly, as I say, if you compare it to the simplicity of what's involved in iOS.  

OK, on iOS if you want a web app to be submitted to the App Store (eg in order to monetise it) then you need to go through the process of wrappering it in something like PhoneGap which I guess is a similarish exercise, but there is a whole class of mobile web apps where such a process is unecessary and the "add to Home Screen" mechanism is sufficient.

I'd like to suggest to the Blackberry folks that an "add to Home Screen" equivalent should be considered for the Playbook and this will really encourage rapid development of web-based apps on this device.

Developer
My Device: Blackberry Bold & Pearl
My Carrier: Telecom NZ

Web Works is actually exceedingly simple and gives you access to more device specific methods than a simple link to a webpage will.

New Contributor