Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
My Device: Blackberry Playbook

SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

[ Edited ]

Hi All,

 

I'm creating a Blackberry Webworks application using Webworks Plug-in for eclipse.

I have a SWF which I want to use in html.

After building from eclipse my SWF comes in .zip file.

I'm creating .bar file using command prompt.

 

bbwp test.zip

 

But my SWF doesn't comes in generated Test.bar

 

When I deploy this .bar file to Playbook simulator. 

It shows other text but not SWF.

 

Please help.

Retired
Posts: 1,382
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

Hi there, we have logged a defect regarding the playing of embedded SWF files packaged inside the BAR.  I will be sure to let you know when this is resolved.  Currently, there is an issue playing *.swf files using the local:/// context.  

 

Sincerely,

Adam

Follow me on Twitter: @n_adam_stanley
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your app doesn't work? Use BlackBerry remote web inspector to find out why.
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
My Device: Blackberry Playbook

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

Thank you Adam. Man Happy

 

I'm waiting for this issue to be fixed.

 

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

Hi,

has this been resolved?

I have 3 flash games that i wish to package for 3 apps before the 15th March....

will it be resolved before that?

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-11-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

 

It's been a while any report of  fix?   What is the approapriate mechanism for embedding, I've seen other posts reporting many methods and the only one reported to work was using jQuery which I don't

want to depend on.

 

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

Actually, the simulator that has been updated few days ago, seems to have better support (i could play a flv video). I havent yet tried with a compiled webworks app....would be doing so in a few days...will keep you posted...incase you do...please let us know

thanks

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-11-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

 

 

Is this going to be fixed by launch?    .swf files still get stripped out but you can fool it by saying they

are .jpg files and then hope at runtime the binary is still valid which they should be.
However using plain webkit pages to play them in 0.9.4 simulator I don't see anything.

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-11-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

 

FYI I can embed my .swf files by calling them .jpg and while I still can't
get them to show up the simulator .9.4 the sounds in the swf play so I think the simulator display
is the issue.   Neither does the web browser in the simulator play webpages with swf for me (again only sound)
but it could be with different OS it can (I have 32bit WinXP VM 3.1.4)? 

I may try turning off the hardware acceleration in the VM and if I have success will post...

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

There are no codecs distributed with the 0.9.4 simulator so media such as video and audio will either not play or be very limited.  This will be corrected with the final official v1.0 release.

 

The ability to package .swf files in your WebWorks app will also be supported in the RTM release of the SDK.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Developer
Posts: 669
Registered: ‎02-19-2011
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook 32GB
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: SWF in .bar file for Playbook Simulator

Is this working now? I'm about to attempt porting the animator of my app Screamager to Flash to see if I can get better performance like that. I think it could be a lot faster that way so my animations run at a more decent speed.

 

Can someone confirm at this point that it's possible to have an embedded SWF inside a regular WebWorks (so not AIR) application?

Staff UI Prototyper (read: full-time hacker)


My BB10 apps: Screamager | Scientific RPN Calculator | The Last Weather App