Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Contributor
My Device: Blackberry Q10
My Carrier: Airtel
Accepted Solution

Unable to Receive Push Notification

[ Edited ]

Hi i am new to Blackberry development.

When i tried with sample Push Initiator which comes with Push SDK and Sample Push-enabled application[Push Capture] from github i can Receive Pushes in that sample application.

But when i try the same logic in My own client application i am not receiving Pushes..

Steps I followed:

1. Registered with Push service and got Confirmation mail with AppID,Password and PPG url.

2. With those details i set to receive Pushes like:Called the create function and createChannel,success callback was called and it returned device token also. But still i am not receiving Pushes in my application.Plz help where i am lagging.

Doubts:

1) How Pushes differentiate the client app and devices while sending Pushes.

NOTE:i used the same AppID which i used for sample app. Can we use same App ID for different applications.

Plz suggest

Retired
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Unable to Receive Push Notification

Could you give this sample a shot?
https://github.com/blackberry/BB10-WebWorks-Samples/tree/WebWorks-2.0/pushCaptureBasics

If uses WebWorks 2.0 and you'll need to provide your own credentials / application IDs. If you start re-using application IDs, you could run into issues.

Both the Initiator and Client can be installed on the same device (by default the Initiator pushes to itself.)

A lot of the extra stuff is left out and the goal with that sample is to show the bare-bones push setup.

Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Contributor