Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

Web deployment of widget-based web app

Hi,

I am new to BB development but am a seasoned Java developer.

I have serched the forums and scoured the BB dev documentation but can not find the exact answer.

How do you deploy a web app containing a widget to an app server such as tomcat and eventually Websphere so that BB users can access the web app (transparently download the widget-based app), and run it on their BB?

I am thinking of Java applets that are referenced within the html/JSP or a .jad file that is requested in a URL that is entered in the web browser.

Typically you deploy web apps in an app server in the form of a .war file. Can you just deploy the .jad file like a .war file?

I also already read that you deploy all .cod files alongside the .jad file.

Thanks a lot for any help.

Retired
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Web deployment of widget-based web app

Hello,

When you use the BlackBerry WebWorks development tools (either the plug-ins for Eclipse or Visual Studio, or the command line packager) to compile an application, it should create two folders:

• build\StandardInstall - deployment files necessary to distribute your application through BlackBerry App World, a BlackBerry Enterprise Server or loaded via Desktop Manager.  There should be a single COD file and a single ALX file.

• build\OTAInstall - deployment files necessary to distribute your application over the Internet to users via the BlackBerry browser.  There should be a single JAD file and one or more COD files (there could be many COD files depending on how big your app is).