Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z30
My Carrier: TIM

WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

I have a very strange problem with one of my apps.

On BB 10.2.1 the app doesn't show up after the splash screen and the console log is empty as you can see in the photo.

 

 

Any ideas?

 

More details:

 

Model: STA100-2

Release OS: 10.2.1.1057

bbUI VERSION: 0.9.6.135

Developer
Posts: 1,280
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10, Q10, Z30 with Files & Folders and Orbit of course
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

[ Edited ]

Fire up Remote Web Inspector, choose the 2nd WebKit instance and type this into your the console:

 

location.reload();

 

It will reload your app from scratch, showing you any errors and console.log() output during startup.

Files & Folders, the unified file & cloud manager for PlayBook and BB10 with SkyDrive, SugarSync, Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, Google Docs. Free 3-day trial! - Jon Webb - Innovatology - Utrecht, Netherlands
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z30
My Carrier: TIM

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

I got this output:

Cannot retrieve data from system
getFieldValue
(anonymous function)
buildModule webworks.js:128
loadModule webworks.js:210
require webworks.js:229
localRequire webworks.js:106
loadModule webworks.js:946
include webworks.js:322
into webworks.js:332

Developer
Posts: 1,230
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

[ Edited ]

<script src='local:///chrome/webworks.js'></script> on line 128 (a familiar number for some reason) is doing a require its missing


You appear to be using some other extension

 

Posting config.xml would help




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z30
My Carrier: TIM

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<widget xmlns="http://www.w3.org/ns/widgets"
xmlns:rim="http://www.blackberry.com/ns/widgets"
version="1.3.1" id="it.froggy.blackberry.radiomontecarlo">
<rim:navigation mode="focus" />
<name>Radio Monte Carlo</name>
<author>Froggy srl</author>
<description></description>
<content src="index.html"/>
<icon src="images/RMC_icon_150.png" />
<rim:splash src="images/splash_screen.png" />
<rim:splash src="images/splash_screen-720x720.png" />
<access uri="http://105.net" subdomains="true" />
<access uri="http://radiomontecarlo.net" subdomains="true" />
<access uri="http://virginradioitaly.it" subdomains="true" />
<access uri="http://virginradio.it" subdomains="true" />
<access uri="http://unitedmusic.it" subdomains="true" />
<access uri="http://apple.com" subdomains="true" />
<access uri="http://ilvillage.it" subdomains="true" />
<access uri="http://imrworldwide.com" subdomains="true" />
<access uri="file:///apps/" subdomains="true" />
<feature id="blackberry.app">
<param name="orientation" value="portrait" />
<param name="websecurity" value="disable" />
</feature>
<feature id="blackberry.app" />
<feature id="blackberry.system" />
<feature id="blackberry.system.event" />
<feature id="blackberry.system.ui" />
<feature id="blackberry.ui.toast" />
<feature id="blackberry.ui.contextmenu" />
<feature id="blackberry.identity" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
<feature id="blackberry.invoke" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
</widget>
Developer
Posts: 1,230
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

Its this one

 

<feature id="blackberry.ui.contextmenu" />

 

BBui Context menu

 

Now - small issue here (Mark / Tim or anyone - pls jump in)

 

If you're using the beta2 things may be slightly different

 

If using slightly older WW you defo want the version on GitHub - tried it recently myself

 

There's documentation additional to that on GitHub here

 

Full instructions are in the docs but make sure you read the relevant info




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z30
My Carrier: TIM

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

I removed the context menu part but it's stil stuck on the white screen!
Developer
Posts: 1,230
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

Are you using bbui context menu stuff tho?

A good way to debug at this stage is firing the onload manually with a link or button as then you can set a breakpoint before anything dies



Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Retired
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

Another possibility is the blackberry.identity extension. Several (all?) of it's properties have permisions requirements and I don't think you have any in your config file. What properties are you accesing on it?

Tim Windsor
Open Source Technical Lead
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z30
My Carrier: TIM

Re: WebWorks app not running on 10.2.1

All the APIs that i use are listed in the config.xml file.