Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: BB Torch 9800 & BB Curve 9300
My Carrier: Vodafone

WebWorks or Java

[ Edited ]

Hi there all, I'm new in developing apps for BB and I can't make the decision whether to use WW or Java to develop an app that is similar to the Facebook and Twitter app.

I searched all over the internet, but couldn't find a proper answer. The only real positive thing I found about WW is that it is easier for web developers.

I'm doubting because of:

• I'm not sure if WW is powerfull enought to create an app similar to FB/Twitter that works just like in Java
  • I tried to develop the loginscreen in WW and Java, styling is much more easier in WW

Could someone help me with this decision by telling me:

• If the FB/Twitter app is developed in Java or WW
  • If I can develop an app that is similar to the FB/Twitter app with WW that is just as powerfull
  • And support why you would choose in this case for WW or Java: Advantages and disadvantages from Java over WW

Thanks for your answer!

Developer
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: WebWorks or Java

Is this for a Tablet or a phone?

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
New Contributor
My Device: BB Torch 9800 & BB Curve 9300
My Carrier: Vodafone

I'm planning to develop for phones first...

New Contributor
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: AT&T

Don't use WebWorks! You'll lose your time and money as I did.

This solution is not ready for production as has too many bugs and you can do nothing with it.

Developer
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom