Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2014
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Rogers
Accepted Solution

Webworks 2.0 projects not showing up

Hi,

 

I am new to app development so I'm sure this is just something simple I am doing to break the link between Webworks and the projects I am creating.

 

If I start webworks, connect my phone and transfer the initial "Helo World" app everything works fine. If I then try to implement code from the github samples everything starts to fall apart. When I re-launch webworks my project doesn't show up so I tried the following:

 

1) Create a new project

2) Rename all the files in the www, js and css folders to *.old

3) Copy all my files from my other project back to those folders

4) Launch webworks 2.0. Nothing shows up

5) Delete all my files from other project and rename originals (remove .old extension)

6) Launch webworks 2.0. Again, nothing shows up

 

Somehow I am breaking the link between my projects and webworks even if I keep the original files. What excatly is webworks looking for and where is it?

 

All I wanted to do is get a blank page / screen with an action bar and some buttons. Copied actionBar.htm and actionBar.js to my project and edited the index.html script sections to match what it tells me on github. Also modified the config.xml although I'll be honest, not sure what any of these files should look like.

 

Background: I don't know html5, javascript or css. Learning as I go.

 

Thanks,

 

Tim

Retired
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
My Device: BlackBerry 9810
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Webworks 2.0 projects not showing up

Hi There,

 

Are building the project using the Command Line or the GUI?  Can you try building the project using the Command line? Here is the overview of the process.  https://developer.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/beta/process_overview.html

 

I hope this helps.

 

Thanks

 

Naveen M

New Developer
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2014
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Webworks 2.0 projects not showing up

I've never tried it through the command line. This is GUI only. Is it normal for a project to disappear from the GUI once the index.htm or config.xml have been modified?

Tim
Retired
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
My Device: BlackBerry 9810
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Webworks 2.0 projects not showing up

Hi There,

 

Considering WebWorks 2.0 still in beta, there could be some issues.  But Command Line should definitely work.  

 

Thanks

 

Naveen M

New Developer
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2014
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Webworks 2.0 projects not showing up

Thanks Naveen,

I'll give the command line a try.

Tim
New Developer
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2014
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Webworks 2.0 projects not showing up

Getting an error at the command prompt that reads:

 

[INFO]    [ERROR] Native Packager exception occured

[INFO]    An error has occured

An error has occured

 

Any clue as to what this might be?

 

Thanks,

 

Tim

New Developer
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2014
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Webworks 2.0 projects not showing up

Ok.....figured it out. Looks like there were some images that were referenced and not actually there. App gets to the phone now but I will accept this as an answer and start a new post on the new errors I'm getting.

 

Thanks for all the help

 

Tim