Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎12-22-2010
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Software Developer

What IDE do you use?

I would like to use my Visual Studio 2010 to start developing my first WebWorks applications. But it seems there isn't any support, yet Smiley Sad

Developer
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: What IDE do you use?

We've tested many of them and we're usually big fans of Eclipse based solutions because of their modularity, but we haven't found anything that is as good as phpstorm. It's very affordable as well.

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: What IDE do you use?


Levion wrote:

I would like to use my Visual Studio 2010 to start developing my first WebWorks applications. But it seems there isn't any support, yet Smiley Sad


You'll likely want to check out our latest blog article talking about our tooling direction for WebWorks

 

http://devblog.blackberry.com/2011/06/blackberry-webworks-tooling-evolved/

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Developer
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎12-22-2010
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Software Developer

Re: What IDE do you use?

Hm, yes I read this before my first post, but I could really believe that this is the replacement for the plugins. I mean, it's only a emulator and I have to to all the compiling, writing, signing stuff from hand.

 

2. Open a command prompt to the folder location containing the bbwp.exe command line utility.

That's not really I expect from a "IDE" Smiley Happy

 

But I will give it a chance Smiley Wink

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: What IDE do you use?

Correct.. we don't expect Ripple to be an IDE.. You can use Visual Studio 2010 for writing your application.  Ripple will do compiling, signing, and emulation

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Developer
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: O2

Re: What IDE do you use?

Hi,

 

will Ripple do this only within Windows? Since its a Chrome plugin I can run it under Linux. Will it working within Linux for compiling and all this stuff in the feature? 

 

best

 

bert2002



----------------------------------------------------------
find my widgets -> http://blackberry.itbert.de
Highlighted
Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: What IDE do you use?

Our first targets are Mac and Win7

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter