Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-10-2011
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: Vodafone

Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

[ Edited ]

On a Bold 9780 using the Blackberry browser, the Javascript functions here:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/webworks/api/navigator.geolocation.html

 

do not yield accurate locations. Sometimes it is several kilometers out, whilst on the same phone, Google Maps application can find my location to within a few meters?

 

I have tried the enableHighAccuracy option and watchPosition but it is still not as accurate as the apps.

 

For reference, the application is here:

 

http://easyboris.org.org/

 

Click the 'Here!' button to do the geolocation.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-10-2011
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

Can anyone from RIM comment, or can anyone direct me to a site where I can log this as a bug? The same code on an iPhone works perfectly and is very accurate.
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Vodafone UK

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

I'm having exactly the same issues on a Torch 9800 in the UK. I've tried turning off the assisted GPS to rely on the satellite only (in case some phone masts are confusing the handset), but this makes no difference. It renders what should be a really simple and easy to use API, completely useless.

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-10-2011
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

Good to know that the posh phone isn't any better Smiley Happy

My Blackberry is a work phone, and I know most people in London prefer the iPhone for personal use. Is it any wonder? It's difficult to understand why RIM are aren't all over this problem like a rash. The GPS in the phone itself is excellent, but it's just inaccurate in the browser.
Developer
Posts: 588
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
My Device: 9100

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

I was having the same issue, so finally i decided to create my own extension using Location APIs which is more accurate.
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Vodafone UK

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

Creating an extension is exactly what I'm planning to do! Any hints / tips before I start - I'm usually a .net developer and don't have any past Java experience (hence I'm using WebWorks for BlackBerry development)?!

Developer
Posts: 588
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
My Device: 9100

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

You can use GPSDiagnosticEX Blackberry demo as a base for location based services use.
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Vodafone UK

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

That's brilliant - thank you! Smiley Happy

Developer
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎08-17-2008
My Device: Red BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

So, if the solution is do an Java extension, and html5 gps it's not accurate this is really a Webworks bug. More when the same jscript code works well in other platforms like iPhone.

RIM have to solve this and we don't have to solve with extension.
Josep Maria
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-10-2011
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Why is the browser GPS navigator.geolocation function not accurate?

[ Edited ]

Josep Maria,

I agree (being a lazy developer) I dont expect to go writing Java extensions just because the RIM one does not work. I may as well write a Blackberry app, and I dont really want to do that. I want people to come to the EasyBoris site, find the nearest bike for hire, then leave (simples).

 

Anyone from RIM listening?

 

EasyBoris London Cycle Hire 

 

Oh yeah, and when you guys finish writing that extension, can you let me know so we can all use it.  Seriously, good luck!