Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

accessing the contact list from a web page

Hi, im new to Blackberry so my question might be in the wrong place, but im looking for a stating point.

Basically i have a web page that is used to make VOIP calls.

i would like to access the Blackberry's contact list from this page when i surf it using balckberrys web browser, so that the user can enter his predefined numbers in the destination call input box.

im assuming this requires  the user to download some kind of a Java plugin that will access the contact list and communicate it back to the webpage.

where do i start ?

Thanks and good to be here.

Buzi.

Guru I
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: accessing the contact list from a web page

hello, you cannot link any database to the BlackBerry browser, for security issues.
if you really want that, the only way is to develop a Java application for BlackBerry devices, that will have access to your address book, and will be able to invoke the BlackBerry Browser and display a webpage that you create on the device.

The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Developer

ok, great.

where do i start ? is there a SDK for developing this java app. can i find some examples somewhere on the site ?

im not trying to be lazy, its just im not really familiar with all the options and it might save me some time starting in the wrong place.

thanks

Buzi 

Guru I

top of this page, banner, developers.
there are plenti of resources, including some Hello, World examples and complete documentation.

JDK is available too. good luck.

The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too: