Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
My Device: BB Z10
My Carrier: Idea

addEventListener Not Working in Phone working good in Emulator

Hi, I am really new to javascript and blackberry.

I am using bbui for pusing and pop div in html page , quiet simple.But not using all its UI. Only screen.

When i am trying to add eventlistner on my button , using javascript .I am getting no result in phone but working fine in

emulator.

My Code is like this .

window.addEventListener('load',function() {
document.addEventListener('webworksready', function(e) {
bb.init({
onscreenready: function (element, id) {

if (id == "loginscreen") {
loadjscssfile("javascript/login.js","js");

}}, false);

}, false);

and then in login.js file i wrote some thing like this .

var signUp = document.getElementById('submitbutton');
signUp.addEventListener('click',login,false);

It is working fine in emulator but not working in phone bbz10.

Also  Is bbui is use full to use for only push and pop , or i can use something else as i do not want default bb style i am lokking for the idea of push and pop only ?

BlackBerry Development Advisor
My Device: All
My Carrier: N/A

Re: addEventListener Not Working in Phone working good in Emulator

Hello,

Have you tried adding a "onclick" to the html of the button instead of setting an eventListener? Because of the way bbUI populates the DOM, you may need to use this approach instead.

Something like: <button id="submitButton" onlick="login();"> this is a button </button>

From my experience, bbUI is the best framework to use at the moment. Even though you're only using it for the screen pushing/popping, it's still faster than the other alternatives out there in my opinion. I would stick with it.

New Developer

Hi ,