Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 554
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700
My Carrier: Movistar, Telenor

Re: build command instead of using ripple

>Ley me know (quickly) if you prefer the device or the batch sile

 

Decoded your message. Decided on the device  :-)

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Developer
Posts: 554
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700
My Carrier: Movistar, Telenor

Re: build command instead of using ripple

Useful link!

 

http://developer.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/compilation_parameters_1873323_11.html

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Developer
Posts: 1,230
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: build command instead of using ripple

Soz Ingvar

 

I'm writing the full version HOWTO right now

 

Just taking a break after doing the basics

 

I've mailed you the skinny so far

 

I'm thinking of dropping the Cordova and Playbook stuff out as it complicates things

 

You have the full dev build stuff I use personally

 

I said I'd get your answer for noon GMT - watch this space (and your email)




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Developer
Posts: 554
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700
My Carrier: Movistar, Telenor

Re: build command instead of using ripple

Just got the basic working for build, pack and deploy. Just keep the project folder clean and only containing stuff that are needed and keep the "out"  folder somewhere else. Then you can pass the projectfolder to the build and skip the "zip" part

 

like:

c:
cd "C:\Program Files (x86)"
cd "Research In Motion"
cd "BlackBerry 10 WebWorks SDK 1.0.4.11"
bbwp D:\Webworks2\Mobisma\ -o D:\webworks2\MobismaOut\out
D:

 

 

 

 

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Developer
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: build command instead of using ripple

I've taken a slightly different approach.

Each project has its own variables bat file, calling a main script located at the root of the projects folder.

 

The main script has routines which will compile, upload, etc. and understands arguments such as debug, build#, etc

:sign
:: Compile and sign
ECHO Compiling and signing .bar
%SDKPATH%\third_party\node\windows\node.exe %SDKPATH%\lib\bbwp.js %PRODUCTION_FOLDER%\%appname%.zip -g %p12% -buildId %buildid% -o %PACKAGED_FOLDER%

 

The variable file contains static variables and prepares all the arguments to be passed to the main script.

SET PACKAGED_FOLDER="%APP_FOLDER%\packaged"

 

That way you keep your SDK clean.

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Developer
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: build command instead of using ripple

[ Edited ]

I created a few scripts that package and then deploy my app to the phone.

If you put the code into a file called .bash_profile then at any time you can just type in(on terminal) 

testBB - this will make a debug version and deploy to device.

signBB - this will make a release version and deploy to device

alias testBB='cd ~/../../Developer/SDKs/Research\ In\ Motion/BlackBerry\ 10\ WebWorks\ SDK\ 1.0.4.11; ./bbwp /Users/philipkirkbride/myapp/Archive.zip -d; cd dependencies/tools/bin; ./blackberry-deploy -installApp -device 169.254.0.1 -package "/Users/philipkirkbride/myapp/device/Archive.bar" -password pass'


alias signBB='cd ~/../../Developer/SDKs/Research\ In\ Motion/BlackBerry\ 10\ WebWorks\ SDK\ 1.0.4.11; ./bbwp /Users/philipkirkbride/myapp/Archive.zip -g 111222333; cd dependencies/tools/bin; ./blackberry-deploy -installApp -device 169.254.0.1 -package "/Users/philipkirkbride/myapp/device/Archive.bar" -password pass'

 

Certain parts need to be modified for your set up. 

 

~/../../Developer/SDKs/Research\ In\ Motion/BlackBerry\ 10\ WebWorks\ SDK\ 1.0.4.11 

change to your SDK location.

 

/Users/philipkirkbride/myapp/Archive.zip

Change this to what ever location your apps are deployed to.

_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
Developer
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: build command instead of using ripple

Actually your probably better off using Tim Windsor's Ant Build Script then modifying what I have.

https://github.com/blackberry/BB10-WebWorks-Community-Samples/tree/master/Ant-Build-Script
_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
Developer
Posts: 1,230
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: build command instead of using ripple

I'm still writing the damned stuff

 

You get it when I finish and test it

 

No disucion i do this without expectation of any payback

 

You've upset me now

 

 




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Developer
Posts: 1,230
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: build command instead of using ripple

Ta for the pointer Phil

 

Ingvar - Phil is another friend if mine so I trust wht he tells me

 

As such, you can trust Phil the same way you trust me




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Developer
Posts: 554
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700
My Carrier: Movistar, Telenor

Re: build command instead of using ripple

OK all you guys.

 

Ant.  Probably an excellent tool.  At my current level its an overkill. I will consider it when I have reached a state where I might have to maintain more than version of my app. Currently the development, or rather, porting of the app from OS 5 to OS 10 is figuring out how to get code that perform the basic functions in the app. Things like get down a zip file from a server, maintain contacts, keep track of geoposition, Send DTMF tones to a pbx and a bunch of other functions. I started out with Ripple and got some functionality working. And then I had to give up on Ripple since it did not support "Contacts". Move over to VMWare simulator. Had a terrible experience with that. Something to do with graphic cards is the current excuse from RIM.  Got it working on my laptop so I have to work on that one. Had to install a second W7 on it (English) to get it working properly.  And the "Contacts"" code still does not work.

Tried 3 different variation on adding a contact but none works. Unjzip does not work, at least not on the simulator even if my good friend "pearbox" had it generated for "simulator".

 

So. Its like rebuilding a 70 or 80 US car which is a hobby of mine. I am struggling with getting the engine, gearbox and rear axle to work together. Steering, brakes, upholstery, fine tuning of the TPI comes much later.

 

Since I cannot use Ripple I wanted a way to compile with having to run Ripple. And with some help I found it.

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-