Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
My Device: curve 9300
My Carrier: mtn
Accepted Solution

how to use the ota install cod file

Using the webworks platform, we have the standard and ota install files, I need to knw how the cod file in the ota install can be used,
Developer
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

[ Edited ]

Put the OTA files in a web accessable location and point the browser on your phone to the URL.

 

ie. 

if you upload the OTA cod file(s) to a directory named '/ota/appname' on your web server you would access http://your-url.ca/ota/appname/cod-name.cod in the BlackBerry browser to install the app

 

Rory

--
Rory (@roryboy)
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Regular Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
My Device: curve 9300
My Carrier: mtn

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

The . Ca u include in d url means wat, and of wat imp, or is it a mistake
Developer
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

It is a dummy URI, you would put the URI of the server you uploaded your file(s) to to make it work. I used .ca since I am from Canada Smiley Happy

--
Rory (@roryboy)
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Regular Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
My Device: curve 9300
My Carrier: mtn

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

Ok, thanks, and ure sure that shud work, thanks anyway
Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
My Device: curve 9300
My Carrier: mtn

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

It didn't work
Developer
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

You'll need to give more detail than that. did you get some kind of error?

--
Rory (@roryboy)
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Regular Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
My Device: curve 9300
My Carrier: mtn

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

No instead of installing it actually askd me to save .cod file in my download location
Regular Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
My Device: curve 9300
My Carrier: mtn

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

Developer
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎05-20-2011
My Device: Z10 and 32GB Playbook
My Carrier: O2 UK

Re: how to use the ota install cod file

You need to link to the associated .JAD file and not the .COD file