Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-07-2010
My Device: Not Specified

jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

Has anyone tried jquery mobile alpha http://jquerymobile.com/ ?

 

I've been trying to make it work for blackberry widgets, but somehow it's not getting the functionalities I wanted. Has anyone else made it work?

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-05-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

Yes,it seems doesnt fit for blackberry. Some functions may not work properly on blackberry browser.

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

We have been working with jQuery to help contribute and assist on the jQuery mobile project.  At the moment the supported BlackBerry browser is BlackBerry 6.  Adam Stanley (who is always on these forums) and myself were at the jQuery conference in Boston last weekend Smiley Happy

 

They have started with the upper echelon webkit browsers first such as BB6, iPhone, Android, WebOS and then are working their way back to BB5.0 and other mobile browsers.

 

So far it works pretty good on the Torch. There are still issues in the framework as it is in alpha, and many improvements and optimizations are still to come.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
My Device: n/a
My Carrier: n/a

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

Hi Tim,

 

I am using alpha 2 of jQueryMobile for BlackBerry Web Widget Development. 

I am able to have the pages rendered, transitioned successfully in simulator (BB Torch) browser by access the page that exposed through a HTTP server.

bb6.0_jqueryMobileBrowser.png

 

However when I run the page as BB web app in the simulator, the page rendered without any styling

bb6.0_jquerryMobile.png

 

and I got some errors logged on my Eclipse console, can you give me some hints to address the error? I am using Eclipse with BB Web Plug-in ( v. 2.5.0.201009142140-15) and BB Widget SDK (v. 1.5.0.201009142140-18). Thanks!!

 

18:33:23.515 INFO Inside OlympiaWebKit main
18:33:23.531 INFO Calling olympia_main lean <<<
18:33:23.546 INFO Thread 0xd1744711 starting
18:33:23.562 CRIT Log level set to 0
18:33:23.562 INFO Thread 0xd19b4711 starting
18:33:23.578 CRIT Installing OOM handler...
18:33:23.578 CRIT OOM handler installed
18:33:23.796 CRIT Olympia:Smiley Tonguelatform::File: error 2 calling open(/media/mmc/BlackBerry/system/appdata/rim/webstorage/JQWorkList/database/Databa+++
18:33:23.796 CRIT ses.db)
18:33:24.031 CRIT Log level set to 0
18:33:24.296 INFO Loading unknown fonts in /sys/font/

18:33:23.515 INFO Inside OlympiaWebKit main18:33:23.531 INFO Calling olympia_main lean <<<18:33:23.546 INFO Thread 0xd1744711 starting18:33:23.562 CRIT Log level set to 018:33:23.562 INFO Thread 0xd19b4711 starting18:33:23.578 CRIT Installing OOM handler...18:33:23.578 CRIT OOM handler installed18:33:23.796 CRIT Olympia:Smiley Tonguelatform::File: error 2 calling open(/media/mmc/BlackBerry/system/appdata/rim/webstorage/JQWorkList/database/Databa+++18:33:23.796 CRIT ses.db)18:33:24.031 CRIT Log level set to 018:33:24.296 INFO Loading unknown fonts in /sys/font/

 

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

Hi xueru,

 

When you package up your application into a WebWorks/Widget app, have you whitelisted the domain from which you are pulling in the jQuery mobile toolkit?

 

All external content has to be whitelisted by their domain origin.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
My Device: n/a
My Carrier: n/a

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

[ Edited ]

Hi Tim, 

 

Thanks a lot!! I added http://code.jquery.com to the widget permission in the config.xml, it is working now. thanks!!

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

Also for "offline" usage of your application, you may want to consider packaging up the jQuery Mobile library as part of your application... That way you can ensure your app will run with its nice UI even if the user doesn't have a wireless connection Smiley Happy

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
My Device: n/a
My Carrier: n/a

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

[ Edited ]

Great Point. I had made the change as you suggested.

Since BB does not like dashes in the file name, I had to overwrite the image file references in the css. 

 

Since my project needs to be done by the end of Jan 2011, I need to get JqueryMobile rendered properly in BB OS 5.0 as well. what's the best approach to debug the JS and CSS in the simulator.  I have been depending on firebug and chrome's element inspection tool, how hard is it to do something similar to those for app running in the simulator or is there a BB browser I can build and use for testing/debugging?

 

I use Eclipse Helios with BB Web Plug-in 2.5.0.201009142140-15 and BB Widget SDK   1.5.0.201009142140-18

 

Thanks.

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

Hi xueru,

 

I know we have been looking at removing the restrictions for "-" and "_" in file names.. I'll check to see where we are with that change.

 

Also, on BlackBerry OS 5.0 simulators you can place breakpoints and debug your JavaScript much like Firebug.  You can find details on how to do this with the Eclipse plug-in here:

 

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/20779/Debugging_BlackBerry_Widget_and_web_apps...

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-31-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: jquery mobile alpha and blackberry widgets

It is mentioned here that OS 5 is supported!!

http://jquerymobile.com/gbs/