Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: none
My Carrier: none
Accepted Solution

opening links in a new window

Really stupid question I just haven't found an answer for, sorry!  

 

I'm developing mobileversions of sites that need to look good and function on Blackberry.  Unfortunately I do not own a Blackberry, so I am using Adobe Device Central.  I'm getting an error on every target="_blank" link that 'Opening an HTML link in a new window is not supported.' and the new page does not load.

 

I'm thinking that Device Central is a little confused, and even if not, that non-supported HTML is more likely to be ignored than to abort a page load.  So, in short, does Blackberry support target=_blank HTML syntax?  If it doesn't, does this actually render links non-functional?

 

Thank you! 

Developer
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: opening links in a new window

Is this a WebWorks app or a mobile web site?

For which OS?

 

If it's an app, you need to use this:

http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/webworks/api/blackberry.invoke.BrowserArguments.html

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: none
My Carrier: none

Re: opening links in a new window

[ Edited ]

Just a mobile website.  Not targeting a specific Blackberry OS, but if I had to choose, I'd say 5 and 6.

 

Thanks!

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
My Device: Bold 9900, 9810, 9780, 9650 and so many others
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: opening links in a new window

Why not one of the free BB simulators?
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: none
My Carrier: none

Re: opening links in a new window

We're not building apps, so installing simulators has seemed like a lot of trouble to go through just to see our sites on mobile devices.  But since my intuition is telling me Adobe Device Central is somewhat off the mark, we may need to go that route.

 

More information, like the answer to my original question, will help me decide if Device Central is a viable testing platform, or if we need to find other testing alternatives.  

 

Thanks!

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
My Device: Superberry
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: opening links in a new window

I strongly suggest downloading a simulator and trying things out so you can judge for yourself.

 

Trying this site on a 6.0 Torch sim reveals that target=_blank works fine:

 

http://www.w3schools.com/html/tryit.asp?filename=tryhtml_link_target

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I kode for cudos! Or was it the other way around?
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: none
My Carrier: none

Re: opening links in a new window

I'll try it out, thanks!