Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-07-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Developer using Phonegap
My Carrier: *

splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

   This  is Uday Vallabhaneni,i am working on BlackBerry 10 mobile applications through phonegap.while doing this i'm getting the splash screen problem for BB10.I tried all things which are available in Phonegap official site as weel as BlackBerry official site but i'm not getting the splash screen for blackberry 10 devices.Please Help me regarding this issue as soon as possible.

 

Thanks&Regards

Uday Vallabhaneni

ph:{REMOVED}

 

Mod Edit: Removed personal information to comply with Community Guidelines and Terms and Conditions of Use.

 

Retired
Posts: 1,561
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

Can you please post the config.xml you are using to configure your application? Or, at the least, the splash screen elements you've configured in your config.xml?

Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-07-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Developer using Phonegap
My Carrier: *

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

<widget id="Project1" 
  xmlns="http://www.w3.org/ns/widgets" 
  xmlns:cdv="http://cordova.apache.org/ns/1.0" version="0.0.1">
  <!--Expose access to all URIs, including the file and http protocols-->
  <description>Splash Screen Designing</description>
  <author email="dev@cordova.apache.org" href="http://cordova.io">Apache Cordova Team</author>
  <rim:permissions>
    <rim:permit>use_camera</rim:permit>
    <rim:permit>read_device_identifying_information</rim:permit>
    <rim:permit>access_shared</rim:permit>
    <rim:permit>read_geolocation</rim:permit>
    <rim:permit>record_audio</rim:permit>
    <rim:permit>access_pimdomain_contacts</rim:permit>
  </rim:permissions>

<gap:splash src="splash/default.png"/>
   <gap:splash src="res/screen/blackberry/splash-768x1280.jpg" width="320" height="480"/>
   <gap:splash src="res/screen/blackberry/splash-768x1280.jpg" width="640" height="960"/>
   <gap:splash src="res/screen/blackberry/splash-768x1280.jpg" width="640" height="1136"/>
   <gap:splash src="res/screen/blackberry/splash-768x1280.jpg" width="768" height="1004"/>
   <gap:splash src="res/screen/blackberry/splash-768x1280.jpg" width="1024" height="748"/>
   <gap:splash src="splash-768x1280.jpg" width="1536" height="2008"/>
   <gap:splash src="splash-768x1280.jpg" width="2048" height="1496"/>

  <preference name="fullscreen" value="true"/>
  <preference name="webviewbounce" value="true"/>
  <preference name="AutoHideSplashScreen" value="false"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.system" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="org.apache.cordova" required="true" version="1.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.find" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.identity" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.identity.phone" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.pim.Address" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.pim.Contact" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.io.file" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.utils" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.io.dir" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.app" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.app.event" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.system.event" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.widgetcache" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.media.camera"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.ui.dialog"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.connection"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.bbm.platform"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.invoke.card"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.pim.contacts"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.ui.contextmenu"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.io.filetransfer"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.io"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.invoke"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.invoked"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.push"/>
  <feature id="blackberry.media.microphone" required="true" version="1.0.0.0"/>
  <name>Sample Splash Screen</name>
  <icon rim:hover="false" src="res/icon/blackberry/icon-80.png"/>
  <icon rim:hover="true" src="res/icon/blackberry/icon-80.png"/>
  <!--<rim:loadingScreen backgroundColor="#CFCFCF" foregroundImage="res/screen/blackberry/splash-768x1280.jpg" onFirstLaunch="true">-->
    <rim:transitionEffect type="fadeOut"/>
  </rim:loadingScreen>
  <content src="index.html"/>
  <access origin="*"/>
  <access subdomains="true" uri="file:///store/home"/>
  <access subdomains="true" uri="file:///SDCard"/>
  <access subdomains="true" uri="*"/>
</widget>

 Hai Friend,

           This is my config.xml please go through this and let me know if any changes please give me the solution AS SOON AS POSSIBLE..

Retired
Posts: 1,561
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

I'm assuming you've created the following three images:

  • splash-1280x768.png (1280×768 pixels)
  • splash-720x720.png (720×720 pixels)
  • splash-768x1280.png (768×1280 pixels)

And replaced the defaults in the following project folder:

res/screen/blackberry10

 

Is that correct?

 

Could you try removing all references to <gap:splash> from your config.xml? This should tell the package to simply take the defaults for the platform, which you've modified the ones you want. The proper one will be automatically picked based on dimensions.


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-07-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Developer using Phonegap
My Carrier: *

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

[ Edited ]

Thanks for giving reply .I tried the procedure what you said before but still i'm unable to get that splash screen and also i removed all those <gap:splash> elements and also tried this procedure (http://developer.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/v2_0/rim_splash_element.html) but there is no responce/result for splash screen in my project.Could you please share,if you have any config.xml file.Which is very useful for better understanding.

Retired
Posts: 1,561
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

I've been looking into this, and feel like this may be an issue that needs to be reported to PhoneGap.

 

The process I took was as follows.

 

I updated PhoneGap to the latest version using:

 

C:\phonegap> npm update phonegap -g

 

I ensured the BBNDK scripts were active as follows:

 

C:\phonegap> C:\bbndk\bbndk-env_10_2_0_1155.bat

 

I then created a new project using:

 

C:\phonegap> phonegap create splash

 

And navigated into the project folder in the CLI:

 

C:\phonegap> cd splash
C:\phonegap\splash> 

 

From there, I opened C:\phonegap\splash\www\config.xml and removed all of teh <icon> and <gap:splash> elements that were not related to BlackBerry, leaving just:

 

    <!-- Define app icon for each platform. -->
    <icon src="icon.png" />
    <icon src="res/icon/blackberry/icon-80.png" gap:platform="blackberry" />
<icon src="res/icon/blackberry/icon-80.png" gap:platform="blackberry" gap:state="hover"/> <!-- Define app splash screen for each platform. --> <gap:splash src="res/screen/blackberry/screen-225.png" gap:platform="blackberry" />

 

Finally, I built the project using:

 

C:\phonegap\splash> phonegap local build blackberry

 

Which successfully  create bb10app.bar. However, opening the BAR file with WinRAR and viewing \native\bar-descriptor.xml, we can see that there are no splashscreens included. The following is an excerpt from the file.

 

    <icon>
        <image>icon.png</image>
        <image>res/icon/blackberry/icon-80.png</image>
        <image>res/icon/blackberry/icon-80.png</image>
    </icon>
    <splashScreens />
</qnx>

 

As we can see, the sample project is either incorrect, or PhoneGap isn't properly parsing the splash screens for BlackBerry 10. In either case, this is an issue that needs to be address by PhoneGap which I believe can be logged against the official Apache Cordova repo here:

https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/CB

 

 

Unfortunately my direct experience with PhoneGap is limited (using WebWorks and Cordova primarily), perhaps others in the community have had luck and can provide some insight here.


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
New Developer
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎06-11-2013
My Device: DEVELOPER
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

How to install and use this framewrok?

******Blackberry Developer*******---Built for the Kill-----
#######Developer of @Sudoku#########
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 768
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
My Device: All
My Carrier: N/A

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

They have quite a few sets of documents on their website. http://docs.phonegap.com/en/3.4.0/guide_platforms_index.md.html#Platform%20Guides

Retired
Posts: 1,561
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

Just to confirm, gap:splash isn't currently a supported feature but our teams are looking at converting this value to the appropriate rim:splash element. If you manually add this element into your config.xml, (i.e. instead of the gap:splash) then it should take over on our platform and provide the appropriate splash screen in the meantime.

Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-07-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Developer using Phonegap
My Carrier: *

Re: splash screen issue in phonegap for BB 10 devices

Hi,

 

     I tried the above procedure what you said previously but i'm not getting any screen.While i'm running the application it doesn't show anything in the screen.