Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Welcome & Introductions

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

BlackBerry Virgin with heaps of questions!

Hi all,

As the subject has suggested, I am a BlackBerry 'virgin' aka newbie. I have been using Windows Mobile for the past 8 years now and have been happy until Window Mobile 6.1 came and spoilt everything! I heard great things of BlackBerry and thought I give it a shot. However I am unable to migrate from WM environment to BlackBerrys successfully. It seems very different from WM and in some ways, complicated. I joined this forum hoping that YOU (BlackBerry guru!) will be able to help with my most basic of questions. So please bear with my dumbest of questions!

I bought a BlackBerry Tour from my cousin in the States whom has obtain the mobile from Sprinter. It must be a service provider in the States. Oh! I'm in Sydney by the way. I have inserted the SIM card and set the network from CDMA to GSM (Australia uses GSM & 3G network). I am able to send/receive text messages and receive and make calls as usual. However on the home screen it say 'Activation Required'.

I have googled online about what activation it talking about. I found out that activation is found in Options > Advanced Options > Enterprise Activation. 

Q1. Where can I find the activation password? Is it somewhere on the guide or box? And which email address is it asking for? 

Q2. What is Enterprise Activation used for?  Must it be activated before I can use the fantastic email and IM functionality BlackBerry offer?

Q3. Why is there no web browser on my Tour? When I try to access any webpage on th mobile, it shows a warning stating the devices does not have any Browser Configuration Service Book Entries. Any idea? Is it regarding the Entreprise activation?