This article applies to the following:
- BlackBerry® Device Software versions 4.2.1 and 4.2.2
- BlackBerry® Java® Development Environment 4.2.1
The default behavior of the BlackBerry security model applies to all applications, and it prevents them from accessing certain application programming interfaces (APIs) as set by the Applications Control. With BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.1 and later, applications have the ability to request a change to these permissions, which the BlackBerry smartphone user can accept or deny.
When launching an application that requests a change to application permissions, the BlackBerry smartphone user is prompted to view and save the necessary changes in the Application Permissions screen.
When the BlackBerry smartphone user attempts to exit the Application Permissions screen by pressing the Escape key, the application permissions are not saved (in BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.1).
When the BlackBerry smartphone user attempts to exit the Application Permissions screen by pressing the Escape key, a dialog box that states Changes made! Save, discard,cancel appears, prompting the BlackBerry smartphone user to save the requested permissions (in BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.2).
In both versions, instead of clicking the Escape key, the BlackBerry smartphone user can accept the requested application permissions by clicking Save on the menu of the application permissions screen.